Banana Bread and Peanut Butter Cookies

MMmmmmMMmm.  So good.  I spent the morning making a double batch of moist banana bread and peanut butter cookies.  Two of my daughters favorite things to eat. The banana bread was very moist.  I made one large loaf and two mini loaves that we gave away to neighbors.  Here is the banana bread recipe I used: http://www.squidoo.com/banana-bread  Easy to make and yummy when it is warm with melting butter!

Image

I haven’t made peanut butter cookies for quite a while.  I usually search the internet for recipes and compare ingredients before I pick which one I want to make.  I try to pick the recipe that I think will taste the best out of dozens available.  Both the banana bread and the cookies came out so well.  Now I have to restrain myself from eating too much of them!  Here is the recipe for the cookies: http://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Classic-Peanut-Butter-Cookies

Image

Tequilaberry’s Salad

Yesterday I made a super good salad.  We will be eating off of that for a week.  It seemed to take me forever to cut up all the salad fixings because I cut them as small as I can.  The dressing that we love to make is a recipe from a restaurant in Coon Rapids, Minnesota called Tequilaberry’s, that has since closed down.  I remember beseeching the staff for their dressing recipe and at that time they wouldn’t give it out.  Time has passed and I finally found it on the internet.  My daughter was never super crazy about salads, although she will eat them.  When I make this salad though she keeps begging for more. I found out that chopping the fixings into small sizes gives more surface area for the dressing to adhere to.  That is why it took so long to get the salad fixings ready. Boy – it is worth it though.

Here is what I used in the salad: 1 whole head of lettuce, 2/3 of a large bunch of endive or leaf lettuce, 1/2 bag of baby carrots, 1 whole head of cauliflower, 1 bunch of celery hearts, “LOTS” of crumbled bacon either bought or homemade, “LOTS” of parmesan powdered cheese.  I put tomatoes and green onions in mine but not in my daughters, because she doesn’t like them.  I don’t put the bacon and parmesan cheese on the salad until we are ready to eat it so the salad stays crunchy.  Of course then I add the yummy Tequilaberry salad dressing and chow down!

The Tequilaberry’s dressing I found on this site: http://www.chindeep.com/2010/02/27/tequilaberrys-salad/.  The dressing calls for 1 cup of Hellman’s Mayonnaise.  It has to be Hellman’s.  That is what gives the dressing the good taste.  You add 1 to 1-1/2 cups of parmesan cheese and 1/4 cup of sugar.  The recipe also calls for 2-1/2 tablespoons of white vinegar.  I use only about 2 tablespoons and I also add a little more Hellmans.  Mix it all together and put it on the salad when you’re ready and sit down and enjoy!  Even non-salad eaters will like this salad!

Sarah Eastin

Health Coach & Plant Based Chef

Hoshana Rabbah Blog

Midrash with Natan Lawrence

The Anti-Media.org

Connecting grass-roots journalism to the public without corporate bias

Cookies Cakes Pies Oh My

...and Everything Else I Love to Bake!

The CSA Experiment

vegetables one week at a time

DWELLING in the Word

a chapter a day to shape our lives for God

L.A. Marzulli's Blog

Politics, Prophecy & the Supernatural

nerdmommathfun

3 out of 2 people have trouble with fractions...

Bipolar: Crazy Mermaid's Blog

Bipolar Delusional Psychotic Mentally Ill Woman Involutarily Committed to Mental Hospital

Bullying Stories

Dealing with the Long-Term Effects of Bullying from an Adult Perspective